Would You Rather Be Stingy Or Lazy?

For as long as I can remember, I have never really celebrated or made a big deal out of weekends. I think when I was in high school it mattered a little. But 5 years in the university, not much since I was so busy with philosophy papers and theology oral exams and laboratory reports and the long tests were unlimited (I sure do not remember subscribing to it)!

On my first job, I worked overtime during the weekends, and I also tutored students. After that, I have been self-employed for more than 14 years, and it certainly did not matter much either, I still work some on weekends (and holidays, too since I have some clients who are busy during the week). Since the pandemic started, the days seem indistinguishable from each other.

When I was thinking about my July goals, I decided to make our weekenders a little bit nicer than the other days (which does not take much really) so at least there is something we look forward to 4-5 times in a month.

On Saturdays, Sophia and I will prepare our food! Yep, this is an accomplishment in itself since I do not like (aka hate) cooking. I suppose I have always known it is an important life (even survival) skill, but I have gotten away from not doing it so far. What changed is my desire to be a better mother (and person in general) and as one, I would like my daughter to at least know some basic chefing skills. Hopefully she can prepare our food in the future since I have yet to develop my love (or even a little more like and less hate, sorry could not stress this enough).

Today we made some hamburgers, with a lot of help from Ate Ana. Yep, I now know how to make food I can buy for 2-8 dollars. Is it worth it? My stingy self says sure, why not! But my lazy side thinks I can make more money than that in the same amount of time it took me to prepare the food.

What do you guys think? Maybe a more relevant question than money and time is, did my daughter have fun? Was it a positive experience for her? Was it something that would make her feel good someday when she remembers how her mother (whom, according to accepted norms, is expected to at least know how to not burn frying meat) was clumsily, comically trying not to get splattered with oil?

Before the pandemic, our weekends were pretty much the same as other days. But I did not mind since our days then were relatively awesome, definitely not the boring, monotonous ones for the past year. So until the situation returns closer to pre covid era, I will continuously try to make at least a couple of days a week special for my daughter. I love you so much, my darling! I will catch a grenade for you! I sure hope I do not have to, but for now I will show you how you make me want to be a better person. Thank you.

What kind of little thing do you do to show your child (and yourself) that you try?

#ToABetterSarah #RaisingSophia #SophiaJulienneAt7 #FromZeroToHero

The very cheesy burger was a raging success!
I thought potato chips was just peel, chop and fry. Will still eat this later, but next time I will search first before assuming something is easy, especially in the kitchen!

Leave a Comment