Would You Rather Complain Or Appreciate?

Some 3 years, 5 months and 10 days ago, I was looking at this same view (while having greasy cheeseburgers and salty fries, the good stuff!) with a man from the other side of the world, who led a life quite different from mine, and our conversation stuck with me.

  • H: isn’t it wonderful?
  • S: yeah, I love unhealthy food!
  • H: not this, that!
  • S: what are you talking about?
  • H: look at the lights!
  • S: and?
  • H: look how alive the city is, and it’s almost midnight!
  • S: have you any idea how congested Metro Manila is?
  • H: the way I see it, there’s endless possibilities here!
  • S: traffic is bad, transportation and communication bad, and I can go on and on…
  • H: imagine all the people you can do business with! all the people you can connect with!

I asked him if he would actually live here, but of course not. He’s got the world on a silver platter. He could literally do whatever he wants whenever he wants. He is rich (with a thriving business who could retire anytime) and brilliant (like mensa material) and everything, but his life is not perfect. My friend was divorced 13 years ago and never had a child, which is a pity because he wants to have kids and I could see him become a good father. He has never allowed his frustrations to dampen his spirits though, and he has always looked at the glass half full, not half empty.

I look at the city lights and remember how amazed I was at his perspective. I tried to empty my mind and imagine to see the world now through his eyes. The past year has been very tough, but on the bright side, I was able to get to know myself better and focus on personal development. Maybe sometimes, all it takes is a little change in perspective.

What little change can you do today?

#ToABetterSarah #FromZeroToHero

Photo taken last December 19, 2020.

Leave a Comment