Would You Rather Moan Or Solve?

I have been feeling somewhat down since last night (or 16 months ago, for that matter). I have got a headache from lack of sleep, thinking too much and feeling horrible. It is exhausting trying to stay positive and just plain getting through each day.

Life is difficult.

This is a great truth, one of the greatest truths. It is a great truth because once we truly see this truth, we transcend it. Once we truly know that life is difficult – once we truly understand and accept it – then life is no longer difficult. Because once it is accepted, the fact that life is difficult no longer matters.

Most do not fully see this truth that life is difficult. Instead, they moan more or less incessantly, noisily or subtly, about the enormity of their problems, their burdens, and their difficulties as if life were generally easy, as if life should be easy. They voice their belief, noisily or subtly, that their difficulties represent a unique kind of affliction that should not be and that has somehow been especially visited upon them, or else upon their families, their tribe, their class, their nation, their race or even their species, and not upon others.

Life is a series of problems. Do we want to moan about them or solve them? Do we want to teach our children to solve them?

M. Scott Peck, M.D. – The Road Less Traveled

I still find life to be difficult. Does this mean I do not truly understand and accept my situation? I know that I am not alone, and that others even have it worse than me. But that fact does not make it any easier to bear.

I have been trying to write since this morning, and I just can’t seem to come up with a decent post today. Will post a better article tomorrow. I’m sorry.

What do you do when life gets hard?

#ToABetterSarah #FindingSarah #OneOfThoseDays #FromZeroToHero

The one that keeps me sane.

4 Comments

  1. Harshita says:

    I just focus on numbers. Whenever a thought comes up, I shift my focus back to counting from 1 to 100. And I try to see the numbers clearly. It helps to listen to sounds in the present moment. I list out all the different things I am hearing. Just some of the things that help me. Different people may have different tricks. It’s not an instant solution. But it helps at least for a few hours.

    Like

    1. I tried counting, too. And just minding my breath. I know all the benefits of meditation, but to be honest, I am not sure I feel them.

      Like

  2. Harshita says:

    “What do you do when life gets hard?” – create something just as you did. I think it’s ok to moan too. Sometimes moaning makes way for clarity. Also meditation helped me today. More power to you girl. I am following you now 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Harshita. I have been trying meditation for some time now. Does not seem to work. Or I’m doing it wrong somehow. How do you do it?

      Like

Leave a Comment