10 Not-So-Positive Traits I Need To Work On

1. I am immature (in relationships). Probably due to lack of experience with long and committed relationships, I tend to think only about myself and my situation, and see things only on my perspective. I know I have a long way to go to be the kind of person I would want to be with, but I am learning.

How to be better: start to be more empathic, and not just in my romantic relationships.

2. I am impatient. Whenever things are not going my way (like now), I tend to get frustrated and lose my cool. I am aware it is something I really need to work on if I want to get annoyed less. The challenges I am facing right now, shall pass, too.

How to be better: start cultivating more realistic expectations, and breathe!

3. I am lazy. I try to find ways how to make more doing less. Sometimes this is an advantage since it helps me get creative. But this has been a problem lately since I am very uninspired. The only thing I can give myself credit for today is getting up in the morning and taking a shower and eating.

How to be better: start looking at the bigger picture, and improve my processes.

4. I am a procrastinator. I tend to wait until the very last minute. I get adrenaline rush beating the deadline. And I get high testing my limits. I have been working (or at least thinking about it) on it, but as long as I get things done, right? Will enroll Sophia tomorrow, school does not start until the 23rd anyway.

How to be better: start learning time management.

5. I am messy. Connected with being lazy, I hate housekeeping and my stuff tends to be disorganized. Before I could say that even if my house is cluttered, I know exactly where something is whenever I need it, but not anymore.

How to be better: start learning how to clean up and organize my things (and life!)

6. I am trusting. Bordering on naiveté, I take people at face value. Generally, this is a positive trait, it just becomes a problem when I never learn from past mistakes on character judgment.

How to be better: start learning how to distinguish between genuine and fake people.

7. I am weak. I wear my heart on my sleeve, and it is difficult for me to hide how I feel. For as long as I could remember, I give as much passion in crying as in laughing. I accept (this I have always known) I am an emotional person.

How to be better: start learning how to hold it in if it would serve me.

8. I am uptight. I have been quite tense about what is happening lately, especially with ECQ Part 3 starting tomorrow. I do not like being pessimistic but I have a feeling it will not end on the 20th. Just the thought that after almost 17 months of lockdown, we are going back to ECQ brings me down.

How to be better: Breathe, and believe that better days are coming.

9. I am stuck. I cannot seem to let go of the past and move forward. I still feel like it is March of last year, where everything was great. I was at the top of the world with a loving fiancé and flourishing career and investments.

How to be better: work harder at accepting things.

10. I am terrified. With the uncertainty of the future (more pronounced now than any other time of my life) and having a 7 year old dependent scares me. I cannot afford to mess things up and let Sophia down.

How to be better: suck it up and muster all the courage I could.

Like I always say, I’m not perfect. Almost lang! Lol. Kidding aside, I am aware of my weaknesses, and I have embraced them as part of me, well actually more of balancing between acceptance and improving what I could.

You may not want to know yourself because you are afraid of what you may find out. Many people have a secret fear that they are bad. But nothing you can find out about yourself is you. Nothing you can know about you is you.

While some people do not want to know who they are because of fear, others have an insatiable curiosity about themselves and want to find out more and more.

Most people define themselves through the content of their lives. Whatever you perceive, experience, do, think, or feel is content. Content is what absorbs most people’s attention entirely, and it is what they identify with. When you think or say, “my life,” you are not referring to the life that you are but the life that you have, or seem to have.

Eckhart Tolle – A New Earth

Have you taken the time to understand yourself and know the areas of the life you have that you could build on?

#ToABetterSarah #RaisingSophia #FindingSarah

Taken 39 months 2 days ago. I need to work on my blush on (and make up in general).

2 Comments

Leave a Comment